My Take on “50 Shades of Grey”

Everyone was talking about this book, so I thought I’d try it.  The story was very interesting and very entertaining.  The writing style however leaves a lot to be desired.  There were two things that bothered me most about the writing.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book and would read it again, but without a strong story line holding my interest, I could not read other works written this way.

It is written in the first person which was the biggest problem.They jumped right into the character of Ana from page 1 with no character development opportunity.  There is no chance to get to know much about this character before they move on.  Plus with it being in the first person from Ana’s point of view, the words I and me are heavily overused throughout the story.

The other problem is that the author seemed to be trying to show off her vocabulary by using a lot a big words.  While some of them were used correctly, many it appeared that she just had a general idea what the word meant.  She used them too literally sticking to that definition instead of what the word actually means.

Leave a Reply

